A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All

Dear Beautiful Lady,
You got your big fat positive! Congratulations! I’m so happy for you. Everyone will be very happy for you. I want to share a secret with you; something I learned too late: take pictures. 

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All
In your first trimester, you will hardly be showing. You’ll feel or, worse, be sick. You’ll say to yourself, “it doesn’t matter, I’ll start taking pictures when I’m showing.” I’m telling you to take pictures. 

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All
In your second trimester, you might have a renewed sense of energy. You’ll take a couple “bumpies” but generally forget to take pictures of your growing body. You’ll forget to take pictures of the first outfit you bought when you found out the sex. You will be too busy to take a picture, but take some anyways. 

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All
In your third trimester, you’re tired. You’re sick of feeling fat and wonder if you will ever feel pretty again. You don’t want a picture of yourself because you’re swollen and cranky. Take your pictures anyways. 

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All
When you go into labor, you’re excited and scared and not thinking about documenting what is happening. I’m telling you now so you won’t forget: take pictures or appoint someone to take them for you! 

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All
I was adamant I would take pictures. I ended up with a handful of bumpies and a few pictures from the hospital. I document almost every second of my daughter’s life now and wish I had more pictures from when she was in my belly. I was too busy and too worried about how I looked. 

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All
When I sat down to write about my experiences with pregnancy and labor I realized I have very few photos. I regret that I didn’t take the time to document the very beginning of my daughter’s life the way I document her life now. 

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All
So, take a minute to take a picture. Capture the life growing inside of you. So you can cherish those memories forever. 

A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All
P.S. The photos you see in this post are Almost all of the photos I have from my pregnancy. I truly regret not taking the time to document more of my pregnancy. A Letter to the Newly Pregnant Woman | The Hart of it All

Leave a Reply

