Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review

I received the Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner from the WeeSpring Parent Panel to review. The opinion expressed in this article are in no way influenced by The Honest Company or WeeSpring.

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it AllMy household is full of dirt, dust, grime and a whole lot of “what is that?” I’ve got three cats, two dogs, one baby, and a house under construction. I could easily spend 24 hours a day cleaning my house and at the end of it I would turn around and it probably wouldn’t look any better than it does now. This is a fact I’ve come to accept. As long as there are paws to get muddy; as long as there are noses to press against glass and mirrors; as long as there is sanding to be done, my house will be dirty. I cannot control where the dirt and dust comes from but I can control what I use to clean it.

 

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
In 2014, my dad died from lung cancer. After that I took some time off of working (I had already quit my teaching job and had turned down an opportunity that was offered to help with my dad, so I would be subbing once I started to work again and can start and stop that at any time). During my time off, I filled my days with projects. One day I set out to make and try various natural cleaners I found on Pinterest. As a person with allergies and asthma, harsh cleaners have always given me problems. With my newfound DIY natural cleaners I was breathing easier when cleaning.

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
Homemade cleaners are awesome and can save you tons, but there is a time and mess factor that, as a new mom, I don’t always have time to deal with. I feel obligated to continue using natural cleaners for my health as well as the health of my family.

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
A while back, I was asked by the WeeSpring Parent Panel to take a survey to possibly test a natural cleaner. With my background I jumped at the chance to test out a natural cleaner. When my package came in the mail I was ecstatic!
I don’t trust just any cleaner to do the job in my house and this Honest clean is supposed to be multi-surface so I really wanted to put it to the test. Can it get rid of my dirt, dust, and grime?

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
Test #1: Dirt

The dirtiest place in my house is the basement. Obviously I’m not going to expect this cleaner to clean my basement’s concrete floor but I dug down deep and found a plastic container covered in dirt. I sprayed it down and started wiping it up. I was surprised that I didn’t have to scrub the plastic to get the dirt off. It wiped right up. So this cleaner can tackle our dirt.

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
Test #2: Dust

When it comes to dust, three cats, two dogs, two adults & a baby make a lot. Especially when hubby starts sanding drywall. Once the dust settled from a project I used this cleaner to wipe up our black glass of out tv stand. I will say it did a decent job. I know I should have used a lint free cloth but with R around I didn’t have time to go hunt my microfiber cloths down. Lesson learned: use a lint free cloth!

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
Test #3: Grime

All five of our pets love to look out the same window. I’ve even seen fights break out between them over who gets to look out this window (I’ll note that it is the only window that faces North that they have access to so maybe that’s why). This window is covered daily with nose and paw prints! It is gross. It takes some tough cleaner and some elbow grease to get that grime off my window everyday. This is the real test of this cleaner. This is where many competitors have tried and failed. The window did take some scrubbing but not nearly as much as I’ve had to in the past. And in the end the window was sparkling!

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
Test #4: Breathe-ability

As I mentioned, I have allergies and asthma. It’s important for me to have a cleaner that isn’t going to give me an asthma attack. This cleaner does smell like grapefruit, but the smell is not strong and dissipates quickly. It smells so fresh and clean and doesn’t bother me at all. I don’t get a headache or have trouble breathing when using this cleaner and that makes me one happy cleaning machine!

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
So my overall thoughts on this cleaner are positive. It can hold its own in the Hart household. I’ve cleaned plastic, glass, wood, porcelain, and metal with this cleaner and it worked well. I’ve used it to clean the high chair tray and some bigger toys like R’s activity table (I tend to put smaller toys through the dishwasher). This cleaner retails at $5.99 at Target. It’s pricier than a normal cleaner but I’m willing to pay a little more to not have an asthma attack. I don’t think this will replace my DIY cleaners but I will use it in addition to them.

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
My mom wants to switch to natural cleaners but refuses to make her own so I let her try some of my sample. She also was impressed with it and is considering making the switch. (That’s a win in my book!)

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All
The bottle says this cleaner will clean countertops, toys, high chairs, walls, wood, floors, porcelain, granite, electronics, and grills. I still need to test it out on some of these things but so far it has worked for me!

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All

Since she’s a chewer, so I couldn’t risk giving her the cleaning bottle but she’s still the cutest little cleaning lady I’ve ever seen!


Have you tried any natural cleaners? What did you think?

Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review | The Hart of it All

2 thoughts on “Honest Multi-Surface Cleaner Review

Leave a Reply

