Honest Company’s Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review

I was given the Honest Company’s Gummy Multi-Vitamins by the WeeSpring Parent Panel to review. The thoughts and opinions expressed in this post are my own and are in no way influenced by the Honest Company or WeeSpring.
Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
Not knowing what is in your kids’ vitamins can be scary. Who knows what was in the Flintstones Vitamins I had as a kid, but I remember loving the taste of them and wishing I could have more than my daily allowance. Vitamins for kids have come a long way; there are still the hard chewable ones but there’s also vitamin gum and the gummies. With all these options it can be difficult to choose the best vitamin for your kiddo. I personally sampled the Honest Company’s Gummy Multi-Vitamins so I can tell you my thoughts on this particular vitamin. 

Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
First, let’s look at some of the facts from the bottle:

  • This vitamin I’d for kids aged 2 and up. Kids 2-3 years old are to take 1 gummy & kids 4 and up are to take 2 gummies. 
  • This product is made without soy, gluten, yeast, wheat, casein, gelatin, sodium, dairy, eggs, shellfish, artificial sweeteners, HFCS, artificial flavors, artificial colors, and preservatives. 
  • This product includes natural flavors, no GMOs, organic colors, & organic cane sugar. 
  • This product has been doctor & dietician reviewed. 

Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
When I opened the container, it smelled like fruit snacks. I had expected it to smell like vitamins since these are more natural so I was super excited about them just for the smell. Over multiple days I sampled every flavor and honestly couldn’t tell a difference between them. I really can’t identify a specific flavor that they taste like but it’s definitely a sweet, juicy fruity taste. The bottle says the flavors are strawberry, orange and fruit punch. Maybe a two year old has a more distinct palate than mine and can tell the difference. Overall, I liked the taste and would personally look forward to having one or two a day. 
Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
I have tried some adult gummy vitamins and most have been very tough to chew for me. I was surprised that the texture of these was less like old gummy bears and more like a fruit snack. It was very easy for me to chew. 

Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
I’m not a doctor or a scientist so I can’t tell you how well these vitamins work. If I were either I would do all the tests I possibly could to assure you that your child is getting maximum absorption of the vitamins and minerals they need to be healthy. Since I’m not able to do a bunch of tests to tell you all the scientific facts on this vitamin, I did what I could do. 

Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
I read once about how to tests your vitamins for absorption, so I attempted it with these Honest multivitamin gummies. I filled a glass with ¼ cup white vinegar and 1 cup hot water. I chewed up the vitamin and put it in the mixture. Within 2 hours anything dissolved is supposedly what would be absorbed into your system. (Source: HOW TO TEST VITAMINS AT HOME BY DISSOLVING IN WATER by Erin Smith

Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
At the 45 minute mark, when the vitamin should have started breaking down, the vitamin was nearly gone. After 2 hours, there were only a few remnants left at the bottom of the glass. So according to this test these vitamins are being absorbed by the body. 

Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
The only thing that bothers me about this vitamin is the price. These vitamins cost more than my vitamins do! At $15.95 a bottle you are looking at a price of approximately $.27 for a 2-3 year old or $.53 for a 4+ year old a day. You are definitely paying to control what extra ingredients are in your child’s vitamin. 

Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All
I’m pretty particular about what I give R to eat. So, will I buy her these vitamins when she is old enough to take them? I’m not sure yet. I personally believe in discussing vitamin choices with your doctor before choosing the best one. So we will wait to see what her pediatrician recommends. 

Have your children tried the Honest Company’s Gummy Multi-Vitamin? What do you think of it?

Honest Company's Gummy Multi-Vitamins Review |  The Hart of it All

Leave a Reply

