Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All

I hate having the TV on but I need noise in the background for my own sanity. Since there is an abundance of research that shows how good music is for not just infants but everyone, R and I listen to music almost all day long (I always strive for at least 1 hour of music and singing a day but we tend to get 3-4 hours of music total). I’m not going to lie baby CD’s are not in the budget. At this point I’m sure most people are aware of various ways to listen to music for free but here are my favorites for babies:

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All

1. Pandora

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All

We love that Pandora is free and there are so many options. Our favorite stations are:

Heavenly Lullabies (Children’s) Radio – this station plays instrumental music and is perfect for calm times like napping or just cuddling. They play a lot of instrumental hymns but there are other songs too.

Toddler Radio – Classic songs like “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” get mixed with new favorites from groups like the Wiggles. Even some Disney is sprinkled in for good measure. This is your classic kid’s station and you will find you had no idea there were so many versions of the A,B,C’s (including the backwards version that I’m still trying to master).

Jesus Loves The Little Children Radio – I love the idea of teaching R to start out her day praising God. This station is perfect for that. Classic Sunday School Songs like “Jesus Loves Me” mixed with VeggieTales and kids worship songs. It starts my day off right every day!

Disney (Children’s) Radio – A whole station of Disney songs? Sign me up! I’m more than willing to dance with Cinderella, march to battle with Mulan, or visit the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. I adore Disney. R has no clue who the princesses are and I don’t plan on her watching a lot of movies just yet but she has a love of Phil Collins’ Tarzan music and she puts up with me “waltzing” her around the living room to Cinderella.

2. K-LOVE

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All

In the car, on the radio, or using the app on my phone, I always have access to a station that promotes positivity and love. I never have to worry that there might be an inappropriate song or commercial. All the content on K-LOVE is Christ centered.

3. YouTube

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All

We love to watch music videos on YouTube. I save these for special times like when teething or shots have R feeling down (although sometimes I just play a playlist of songs and don’t let her watch, especially if there’s a song I have stuck in my head). I’ve made playlists of songs from shows I watched as a kid that remind me of childhood. Hap Palmer’s Baby Songs, WeeSing, Kidsongs, and of course VeggieTales (Silly Songs with Larry have become a favorite during teething).

4. Library CDs

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All

If you didn’t know, your local library has tons of CDs just waiting for you to borrow and love! This is where we get music from Raffi and The Wiggles to sing to in the car and at home. I just love exploring what my local library has to offer!

5. Personal Music

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All

Not all adult music is kid friendly, in my opinion, but I have a fondness for musicals, Disney, 90s music, and Christian artists. I’m not above belting out a little bit of Wicked or bringing Backstreet Back. My husband likes to listen to the local oldies station in the car so R gets a taste of music from the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s too. I encourage you to share your favorite music with your little ones.

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All
Music is such an important part of life. I encourage you to make it a part of your baby’s life too. I can’t wait to see how our music tastes evolve as R grows.

Top 5 Places to Find Free Music for Babies | The Hart of it All

Leave a Reply

